How to Unblock Someone on Venmo

Last updated: May 6, 2022 • 5 min read

While the Venmo app has proven to be one of the most straightforward ways to send money and receive payments, here is the contrary opinion:

Some users believe that it has taken the concept of “online presence” a little too far.

Not everyone is pleased with the idea of having their payment activity public to the world.

However, there also might be a case where you just want to specifically block a person from seeing your individual transactions.

But we can all change our minds at some point, right?

That’s why it’s essential to know how to unblock someone on Venmo at your will.

In this article, we will be talking about:

  • How to unblock someone on Venmo;
  • How to correctly set up your payment history;
  • Understanding what happens when you block someone on Venmo.

Table Of Contents

What Happens with Blocked Users on Venmo?

As you might know, all your transactions on Venmo are shown by default to each person you add to your friends’ list.

They can also see your account information whenever they want.

It’s possible to delete Venmo transaction history (which won’t be entirely deleted, but hidden so only you can see it), but what happens when you block a Venmo user?

  • You won’t be able to send payment or receive payment from a blocked Venmo user;
  • They won’t be able to find your user’s profile page by any means. Also, you won’t see their user’s profile either;
  • It’s not possible to engage in any way with a blocked user on the Venmo app.

Search People to Block Users on Venmo

Account block in Venmo is fairly easy to do.

All you need to do is search people using the feature located in the upper right corner of the screen.

There, type in the username of the person, and they must show up on the search results.

Once you find them on the search results, open their profile, tap the three circles icon at the upper left of the screen and select “Block” – there you go: user successfully blocked!

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

Pro Tip: There are plenty of financial apps in the sea. If you want to Delete Venmo Account , you are on your right to do so whenever you wish!

How to Unblock Users on Venmo

So, why would you want to unblock someone on Venmo?

Well, maybe you blocked someone unintentionally, or perhaps you want to make a transaction with a user you have blocked.

Also, impulsively blocking someone is common these days, so don’t worry.

If the blocked user has a valid account, then yes, you will be able to unblock them – so let’s get to it!

Read Also: You can Add Money to Venmo if you want to pay for services using your Venmo Debit Card! To learn how to do this, we recommend you read the blog post we’ve written about this topic.

Mind that if you are sending money to a Venmo user with freezed account, they need to unfreeze their Venmo account first.

Step 1: Log In to Your Venmo Account

First, you need to log in to your account using the app icon and go to Settings.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

You won’t be able to search for blocked users, so it’s fundamental to follow another path here.

Step 2: Tap “Settings” and then “Privacy”

The settings option is on the top right corner of the app.

Keep in mind that there isn’t a search bar to look for settings, so once you are there, scroll down and locate the “Privacy” option.

Step 3: Select the Blocked User List

Venmo will show you a list of the users you have blocked in this settings menu located in the upper right corner.

This is the only way to see blocked persons since, as you know, they won’t appear anywhere else in the app.

Step 4: Select the Venmo Users You Wish to Unblock

While you are on this menu, you need to tap on the three lines icon that appears next to each user.

The three lines icon, which might also be a three-dot icon depending on the version of the app you are using, will give you some options.

Step 5: Tap “Unblock” and Confirm Your Decision

Tapping the three lines icon on a user will make a dropdown settings menu appear.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

Here, just tap on “Unblock” twice in order to finally unblock them from your Venmo account.

Finally, tap on “Save Settings,” and there you go – you can go back to making transactions with the user you just unblocked!

Keep in mind that your payment history will always be shown publicly unless you set transactions “Private.”

That’s how you unblock someone on Venmo!

It’s pretty easy as you can see.

For more Venmo-related content, you can always count on GrowFollowing.

Unblock Someone on Venmo FAQ

Can Two Venmo Users Mutually Block?

No. Once you block someone, or once someone blocks you, you won’t be able to see each other’s profiles.

Hence, there’s no such thing as “mutually blocking” on Venmo.

That’s why it’s so important to have control of your list of blocked people before using Venmo.

Can You Make Transactions with Blocked People?

You can’t until you finally unblock them.

However, this is possible to achieve if you do so from a different Venmo account.

It’s possible to use a secondary Venmo profile if you please, or have a profile with Joint Bank Accounts .

This article is part of How To Use Venmo Guide where you can learn everything about Venmo app and its features.

About the author

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com