How to Remove Subscribers on YouTube

Last updated: May 3, 2022 • 5 min read

Whenever you upload videos to your YouTube account, you are sure to get some trolls harassing you.

It’s normal, and every big channel has some trolls.

But that doesn’t mean that you can’t do anything about it.

In fact, YouTube has many tools to delete subscribers from your channel.

If you like it’s time to take out the trash from your YouTube channel, we’ll teach you how to delete subscribers.

You’ll learn:

  • How to remove subscribers on YouTube
  • How to remove subscribers from the YouTube app
  • What happens when you remove a subscriber from your YouTube channel?

Jump to specific section:

Table Of Contents

How To Remove Subscribers On YouTube

The easiest way to remove unwanted users from your channel is to block that user.

The block user button can be accessed on your comment section or by visiting the user’s profile.

If you don’t want a user subscribing to your channel anymore, here’s what you need to know:

Note: Making comments is one of the most basic features on YouTube.

Positive or negative, a comment will help your video rank higher with the algorithm.

That’s why you should enable comments on your YouTube channel.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

The easiest method to find the subscriber you want is to look at your comments section.

Just follow these steps:

  • Step 1: Sign in to your YouTube channel.
  • Step 2: Tap your profile icon on the top right corner.
  • Step 3: Go to your YouTube Channel. Tap “My Videos.”
  • Step 4: Go to a video.
  • Step 5: Search for the YouTube user.
  • Step 6: Tap the three dots on the user’s comment.
  • Step 7: On the pop-up menu, click Hide User from the channel.

This will block them from subscribing to your videos and commenting on them.

Remove Subscribers from Your Subscriber List

If you just want to see a specific subscriber, check our other subscribers’ article.

Here’s how you remove subscribers from your channel:

  • Step 1: Launch YouTube.
  • Step 2: Tap your profile picture on the top right corner of the screen.
  • Step 3: Tap your YouTube channel.
  • Step 4: Tap Customize Channel to go to your YouTube Studio.
  • Step 5: You’ll see your Subscriber Count on top. Scroll until you see the recent Subscriber Button.
  • Step 6: Once you click it, you’ll see your recent YouTube subscribers.
  • Step 7: Select subscribers you want to delete from your YouTube channel.
    • Do so by clicking the user’s profile photo.
  • Step 8: Go to their YouTube channels.
  • Step 9: Go to the about section and click on the flag icon.
  • Step 10: Tap block user.

If the specific subscriber you want to block made its subscriptions private, you won’t be able to see it on your YouTube channel.

Your best bet will be to search for them with the channel name and block them directly there.

How To Remove Subscribers From The YouTube App

You’ll need to use the YouTube Studio mobile app. You can hide subscribers and block them as long as the user comments on a video.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

There are only a few differences. For starters, the flag icon will appear on a red rectangle icon instead.

And the mobile app also makes it easier to navigate through the comments of your videos.

Once you select subscribers to remove, click on the channel name and hide its comments.

Also Read: If the harassment on your YouTube channel was simply too much, you might want to delete your YouTube channel instead.

You’ll need your Google account credentials to do so. To start the process, click settings below your channel name.

What Happens When You Remove A Subscriber From Your YouTube Channel?

When you forcefully remove subscription from other users to your channel, they’ll still be able to watch your channel’s content.

However, they won’t be able to make comments or be notified about your new videos. In fact, the Subscribe button will disappear altogether.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

However, this is not a perfect method as they can always make a new Google account and subscribe with that Google account.

But don’t take it in the wrong way.

Sure, it is annoying to have an unwanted troll watching your content and commenting on your videos.

But try to look at the situation in another light.

Your channel is doing so great that even when you block someone from watching it, they are still doing anything in their power to watch your content.

Additionally, the YouTube algorithm doesn’t differentiate between negative and positive comments.

As long as there are comments, your channel will do great.

How to Remove Subscribers on YouTube FAQ

Why Does YouTube Remove Subscribers From Your Channel Page?

They may remove subscription from any channel if Google detects that the account was a bot.

A subscribed bot only affects the subscriber count of your page. They rarely provide watch time to your video.

How Do I Remove All My Subscribers On YouTube?

You can remove YouTube subscribers from your subscriptions one by one.

Since you can’t see their names, there is no way to remove all users that are subscribed to your channel.

Your best bet is to delete your Google account.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com