How to Remove Yourself as an Admin from a Facebook Page

Facebook pages can have entire teams of people who help manage and maintain them. Usually, each person has their own role, such as admin, editor, or moderator, that determines what access they have to the page.

Facebook users who have been assigned a role for a Facebook page can remove themselves from the page if they please. The only exception to this, is if they’re the only admin left on the page.

In this article, we’ll show you how to remove yourself as an admin from a Facebook page in the Facebook website on your PC and in the Android / iOS mobile app.

2022 Update: Facebook is rolling out its “New Pages Experience” to some pages. The article has been updated to show the removal process for both the old and new pages experience.

How to Remove Yourself as an Admin from a Facebook Page in Classic Pages Experience

You can remove yourself as an Admin of a Facebook page by navigating to Page Roles in the page’s settings. Below, we’ll show you how step-by-step on both desktop and mobile.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

All Facebook page’s must have at least one administrator. If you’re the only admin of the page, you won’t be able to remove yourself unless you make someone else an admin first.

Desktop / PC

  1. Open Facebook.com and sign into your account.
  2. Click Pages in the menu on the left and select the page you wish to remove your access to.
  3. On the page’s homepage, scroll down in the leftmost menu and select Settings.
  4. Under Page Settings, click Page Roles.
  5. In the right panel, scroll down to Existing Page Roles and click the Edit button next to your name.
  6. Finally, click Remove to the far left of the edit menu. You may need to sign into your Facebook account again to confirm your identity.

Android / iOS Mobile App

  1. Open the Facebook mobile app and sign into your account.
  2. Tap your Profile picture / 3 bars in the upper right corner and then tap the Pages tile.
  3. Tap the page you wish to remove your access to.
  4. On your page’s homepage, tap the Gear icon in the upper right corner.
  5. In Settings, tap Page Roles and then tap the Pencil icon next to your name. You may be prompted to sign into your account again to confirm your identity.
  6. Finally, on the Edit Person screen, tap the Remove button at the bottom.

How to Remove Yourself as an Admin from a Facebook Page in New Pages Experience

In January of 2022, Facebook started rolling out a new look for business Facebook pages called New Pages Experience. While the general functionality of your page is the same, many of the options shown above have been moved around.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

Below, we’ll show you how to remove yourself as an Admin from a Facebook page in New Pages Experience.

Desktop / PC

  1. Open Facebook.com and sign into your account.
  2. Click Pages in the menu on the left.
  3. Click Switch Now under the page you wish to remove yourself from.
  4. On your page’s homepage, click the Manage button to the right of your page’s name and under its banner image.
  5. In your Professional Dashboard, click Page access under Your tools in the leftmost menu.
  6. Finally, click the 3 dots to the right of your name and select Remove access.

Android / iOS Mobile App

  1. Open the Facebook mobile app and sign into your account.
  2. Tap your Profile picture / 3 bars in the upper right corner and then tap the Pages tile.
  3. Tap Switch now under the page you wish to remove yourself from.
  4. On the following screen, tap View Tools under Mange your business.
  5. Scroll down and tap Page access under the Your tools section.
  6. Finally, tap the 3 dots to the right of your name and select Remove from Page.

Removing Yourself From a Facebook Page When you’re the Only Admin

As we mentioned earlier, you can’t remove yourself from a Facebook page if you’re the only administrator of it.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com

If you still want to distance yourself from the page, then there are two options you can consider:

  • Finding someone else to maintain the page, making them an admin, and then removing yourself from it.
  • Deleting the page instead.

If you elect to delete the page, you’ll have 14 days to reverse your decision. You can also look at unpublishing the page if you’re not sure you want to delete it.

Article post on: howto.tungchinguyen.com